Exploring New Opportunities

A couple of months ago, I wrote my first post for The Rising Blog which you can read here. In it, I mentioned that I took hold of new opportunities. One of them was to join Kent Outdoor Explorers, through meetup.com At that point, I had not actually plucked up the courage to attend one of the walks. I’m not sure what I was worried about, I just held myself back. I shouldn’t have! I have now done two walks with the group and am on my third route this weekend. Hannah is a great guide and I’ve found I both get a chance to walk on my own enjoying silence, and a chance to talk to people and make new friends!

I thought I’d share some of the photos taken on the two walks!

EYNSFORD – LULLINGSTONE

(8miles via Darenth Valley Path & Hop Farm)

Eynsford is this beautiful village near to Sevenoaks. I wish I had taken more photo’s here, it is definitely a place I would return to! We set off from here and were soon walking up hills, down country lanes and across fields. I can’t believe we were in the middle of the M25/26/20 triangle! It felt like the centre of nowhere!

After stopping for lunch, we headed towards The Hop Shop for our #kentishlavender tour – I now know why my lavender tea doesn’t make me sleepy! It is a wonderful place to visit, they even offer massages in the lavender fields. If anyone would like to book me one and drive me there and back I’ll be your friend forever!!

From here we headed towards Lullingstone Castle and then back following the river to Eynesford. A beautiful day!

for more check our Hannah’s youtube channel

BOUGHTON & BLEAN EVENING WALK

(5 miles)

The second walk was a Friday evening. It is a wonderful time of day to go walking through orchards & woods watching for dusk to call an end to the week. I can’t believe this is only 10 minutes from my house!

Why not check out Meetups.com for yourself and see if there are any groups you would join? Then bit the bullet and attend one of the groups!

Leave a Reply

